How to Delete a YouTube Video

Deleting a YouTube video is as simple a task as publishing new content on the platform. Any video hosted on your channel can be deleted with just a few clicks, and that’s both on desktop and mobile.

Posted a video on YouTube and regretted it? Learn how to permanently delete it from your account on the service. On PC, the procedure must be done through YouTube Studio.

How to delete a YouTube video

On PC:

  1. Go to “studio.youtube.com” (without quotes) and log in with your YouTube details;
  2. Click on the three-line menu on the left and go to “Content”;
  3. Find the video you want to delete and click on the three dots icon on top of it;
  4. Select the option “Delete forever”;
  5. Check the box “I understand that the deletion is permanent and cannot be undone”;
  6. Confirm the deletion by clicking on “Delete Forever” again.

And ready. The video has been deleted from your YouTube account.

On Android and iPhone (iOS):

  1. Open the YouTube app on your phone;
  2. Tap on “Library”, in the lower right corner, and then on “Your Videos”;
  3. Locate the video to be deleted and tap the three dots icon on top of it;
  4. Tap “Delete”;
  5. Confirm the action by tapping “Delete” again.

Can I delete more than one video at the same time?

Yes, but only on the YouTube Studio website. On the “Content” screen, simply tag two or more videos on the same page, and on the “More Actions” tab, click “Delete Forever”.

Can I recover a deleted video?

No. Videos deleted from YouTube are permanently deleted and no longer appear in search results. However, you will still be able to view data associated with deleted content (such as watch time) in the service’s aggregated reports.

Can I replace a video instead of deleting it?

No. YouTube does not allow replacing an existing video with a new one because all content uploaded to the platform receives a new URL. What you can do is change the video that already exists with YouTube Studio’s editing tools, including the features to cut the video, add cards or change the description and title.

Leave a Comment